• Archives

  • Categories


New Board Members Sworn In Today

Thanks to Diane Henderson on the CBB staff I’ve got this orientation report for you:

Feb. 1, 2006 – The U.S. Department of Agriculture administered the oath of office to new members of the Cattlemen’s Beef Board during a special orientation session provided for them during the Cattle Industry Convention here today.The 20 new members appointed to the Board by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture last fall officially take their seats as voting members of the Board at its meeting on Saturday.In addition to the swearing in today, new Beef Board members heard from USDA, Beef Board staff, CBB legal counsel and current CBB officers Al Svajgr, Jay O’Brien and Ken Stielow about the responsibilities they have as Beef Board members and stewards of the beef checkoff, including Board structure and procedures.

New Board members who take their seats on Saturday include: Tom Jones, Arkansas; Ross Jenkins, California; Roger West, Florida; Tim. Shaw, Idaho; Terry Handke and Daniel Kerschen, Kansas; Charles Bassett, Missouri; Jim Eschliman and Lindy Whipps, Nebraska; Margie Hande, North Dakota; Bob Drake and Andrea Hutchinson, Oklahoma; Robert Bruner, Dan Dierschke, Bryant Fisher and Daryl Owen, Texas; and Bill Oliver, Virginia; Ron Allen, John O’Carroll, and David Palmer, importers.